Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


Skrill Premier Conference
The Hive Stadium, Harrow, London – Saturday 16th November 2013

The Hive Stadium an hour before kick off - Click to open

The Hive Stadium an hour before kick off – Click to open

Average camera settings throughout the match:
Shutter: 1/6400 – 1/8000 sec
f/ stop: 2.8
ISO: 6400
White balance: Auto
Priority: Auto & Manual

It’s beginning to feel a lot like winter
A few positives was to come out of the this match for me even before I arrived. Firstly, the teams were amongst the best in the league and I was going to use my new camera for the game. The new camera was a Nikon D700 which bagged an impressive 8 FPS, 6400 ISO and it was full frame (FX). So when I fired a few frames at some players I noticed a shocking difference when comparing it to my other camera the D300s. So beaming like a Cheshire Cat I went out and the creativity juices started to flow through. The only downside to the match was that it was very cold.

Arriving at The Hive only took me an hour to travel so it was for a change a short distance to a game. The place was rocking with a few supporters turning up early and the police arriving in large numbers before the majority of both sets of fans would arrive. The atmosphere was electric not only with the delighted for the club that yet again BT Sport broadcasting the match LIVE at The Hive, but a lot of excitement around the club that both teams needed a win.

For the match, I was hired by Cambridge United FC to be their club photographer for the night to cover not only the match but also the away supporters, for which I was delighted that they turned up with over a thousand with families and great positively. The usage of the photographs will be displayed on the clubs website, social media and print format.

Here are the highlights:

Richard Money being interviewed by BT Sport before kick off - Click to open

Richard Money being interviewed by BT Sport before kick off – Click to open

Cambridge United fans before kick off - Click to open

Cambridge United fans before kick off – Click to open

BT Sport crew prepare before kick-off - Click to open

BT Sport crew prepare before kick-off – Click to open

Barnet FC Mascot entertaining the crowd - Click to open

Barnet FC Mascot entertaining the crowd – Click to open

No.9 Adam Cunnington battling with No.6 Jack Saville - Click to open

No.9 Adam Cunnington battling with No.6 Jack Saville – Click to open

No.18 Luke Berry amongst the Barnet midfield - Click to open

No.18 Luke Berry amongst the Barnet midfield – Click to open

No.18 Luke Berry trying to take control of the ball over No.15 Kieron Cadogan - Click to open

No.18 Luke Berry trying to take control of the ball over No.15 Kieron Cadogan – Click to open

One of the annoying things about photographing from the side-lines is the linesmen getting in the way of good photographic moment - Click to open

One of the annoying things about photographing from the side-lines is the linesmen getting in the way of good photographic moment – Click to open

However, I moved to my original spot on the left corner ending facing the Cambridge attack - Click to open

However, I moved to my original spot on the left corner ending facing the Cambridge attack – Click to open

No.21 Kwesi Appiah controlling the ball against No.30 David Stephens - Click to open

No.21 Kwesi Appiah controlling the ball against No.30 David Stephens – Click to open

Captain/Player Manager No.1 Edgar Davids - Click to open

Captain/Player Manager No.1 Edgar Davids – Click to open

Cambridge United supporters during the match - Click to open

Cambridge United supporters during the match – Click to open

No.21 Kwesi Appiah scoring his second goal of the night for Cambridge United. I missed the first goal due to the linesmen in the way when I was on the side of the pitch. So I learned from my first mistake this time. - Click to open

No.21 Kwesi Appiah scoring his second goal of the night for Cambridge United. I missed the first goal due to the linesmen in the way when I was on the side of the pitch. So I learned from my first mistake this time. – Click to open

No.18 Luke Berry curling the ball for goal - Click to open

No.18 Luke Berry curling the ball for goal – Click to open

No.11 Harrison Dunk striking for goal - Click to open

No.11 Harrison Dunk striking for goal – Click to open

Young ball boy watching the away supporters - Click to open

Young ball boy watching the away supporters – Click to open

No.29 Graham Stack celebrating his 'Movember' attempt, a lot better then mine - Click to open

No.29 Graham Stack celebrating his ‘Movember’ attempt, a lot better then mine – Click to open

A volley from No.14 Richard Tait nearly gave Cambridge United the lead in the game - Click to open

A volley from No.14 Richard Tait nearly gave Cambridge United the lead in the game – Click to open

Smoke flair from the Barnet supporters stand which produced a little more drama - Click to open

Smoke flair from the Barnet supporters stand which produced a little more drama – Click to open

Me wearing in the white hat (if it was not the first thing you noticed anyway).

Me wearing in the white hat (if it was not the first thing you noticed anyway).

After the final whistle I heard happened to pack my gear away as usual then noticed behind me a small scuffle broke out and caused a large number of police trying to control and move along with supporters. On a personally level I found it emotionally difficult to photograph such moments that any other sensible person would just stay clear and into safety. For me as a photographer, ignoring my emotions and fear, I felt it was my duty to recorded these moments.

Police controlling the crowd after the final whistle blew - Click to open

Police controlling the crowd after the final whistle blew – Click to open

Police controlling the crowd after the final whistle blew - Click to open

Police controlling the crowd after the final whistle blew – Click to open

Police controlling the crowd after the final whistle blew - Click to open

Police controlling the crowd after the final whistle blew – Click to open

I like to thank Barnet FC for their fantastic hospitality and support throughout the day. Cambridge United supporters for allowing me to photograph them and the Metropolitan Police for their quick response in controlling the incident after the game.

